Copyright 2019 - Clinical Commissioning Groups Association

Testimonials and Responses - Mr Simon Ellis MA (Cantab) MBBS FRCS (Orth)

Mr Simon EllisMr Simon Ellis

Mr Simon Ellis is one of the South East’s leading knee surgeons. He has over 20 years’ experience as a consultant based in Kent. Simon has a very simple but important mission statement “I give the same quality of care to my patients as I would want my family and friends to receive”. Simon prides himself on communication. He believes that listening, explaining knee problems in understandable terms and ensuring that patients have all the information needed to make their own management decisions is essential. Simon has been awarded a Certificate of Excellence for care from iWantGreatCare this year. Simon’s base is KIMS Hospital in Maidstone, but he covers North Kent through the Spire Alexandra Hospital, Walderslade as well as West Kent through the One Ashford Hospital in Ashford. Simon specialises in knee sports injuries which include meniscal and ligament issues as well as the management of knee arthritis. Whether you are insured, self funding or referred by your general practitioner through the NHS electronic referral scheme - availability is no issue and Simon, supported by his practice management team at KMS Professionals, will ensure that your knee problem is sorted as quickly as possible. His practice manager Victoria can be reached either by telephone on 01622 620920 or by email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. You can make an appointment to see Simon by contacting his team on 01622 620920.

Webpages
http://www.mrsimonellis.co.uk

Specialises in:
Orthopaedic and Trauma Surgery

Works at:
KIMS Hospital
Spire Alexandra Hospital
BMI The Somerfield Hospital
One Ashford Hospital

 

1) 25th February 2018, written by a patient at Spire Alexandra Hospital

I injured my knee on a Saturday by the Monday I had an appointment with Mr Ellis and surgery by the Thursday! The Reception staff at the Spire Hospital were fantastic, very professional and friendly. Mr Ellis has been exceptional from the first appointment. He has an approachable manner and his professional knowledge makes the patient feel immediately calm and reassured. The whole team Reception, the surgical team, nurses, X-Ray, physio & of course Mr Ellis have all worked together well therefore providing me with a service that has been excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend you. Thank you.

25th February 2018 Response from Mr Simon Ellis:
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. Usually there is the opportunity to take time to make a decision about treatment choices but sometimes the only option to help the knee is to carry out surgery with minimum delay to avoid further consequences. When this is necessary it is important to ensure that the whole team works together to react and provide investigation followed by appropriate surgery in the shortest safest time frame. It was a pleasure to be able to facilitate this for you. I will forward your review to the rest of the team. With kind regards Simon Ellis

2) 4th February 2018, written by a patient at KIMS Hospital

A good friend, a retired orthopaedic surgeon, suggested that if I was able to have my procedure undertaken by Mr. Ellis I could not do better. I had my first appointment with Mr. Ellis to review the results of a knee x-ray. Twenty years ago I had been advised that a replacement joint would be required but with the passing of the years and reports of the procedure by others I was not relishing the thoughts of the operation. Mr Ellis gave advice, information and a great amount of confidence. I am now going into the next phase fully aware of what lies ahead and looking forward to what I hope is a fresh start.

24th February 2018 Response from Mr Simon Ellis:
Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. Making the correct treatment choice at the right time is the important thing. Moving forward with a knee replacement is a big step but I think we have made the right decision. With kind regards Simon Ellis

3) 21st February 2018, written by a patient at Spire Alexandra Hospital

I would like to thank Mr Ellis for doing my operation and how I was treated before and after the surgery was caring and considered all my views and was able to discuss all of my options and that Mr Ellis is a fine consultant and listens to you and has no problem in you asking questions or if you do not understand he is happy to repeat anything that you do not understand. I would recommend Mr Ellis without hesitation and cannot fault any of the services that the Alexander provided. Felt like a person not a number. All staff were pleasant and I did not feel as if I was rushed to go home. Especially as I was a day case and did feel as if I was taking up a bed that was needed long than I should have but they did not make me feel like I was a burden so THANK YOU MR ELLIS.

21st February 2018 Response from Mr Simon Ellis:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, I will certainly pass your comments on to the Spire Alexandra, the staff will be delighted. I am personally very grateful for your positive feedback of the care I provide and your recommendation which means a lot to me. With kind regards Simon Ellis

4) 9th February 2018, written by a patient at KIMS Hospital

Having been referred for knee surgery Mr Ellis explained everything in full detail of everything that was going to happen before and after surgery. Mr Ellis put me at ease and I was not in the slightest bit worried. The outcome is that I have a new lease of life thanks to having this surgery done. I was a bit apprehensive that I could not bend my knee over 90 degrees after about 7 weeks but with a lot of hard work and patience I managed to achieve this. I was so happy I could not stop smiling. And being able to use an exercise bike as well is for me a fantastic achievement as I did not think for one minute I could do it. I would not hesitate in recommending Mr Ellis as he is a wonderful and charming gentlemen. The staff at Kims should also be awarded for their hard work and kindness given at all times. Keep up the good work I will never forget you. Mrs J. C. 

19th February 2018 Response from Mr Simon Ellis:
Thank you so much for this review and your kind words Mrs J.C.they are really appreciated. I am delighted that you are so pleased with the outcome and hope that you enjoy the new lease of life. Comments like this make my job so worthwhile. With kind regards Simon Ellis

5) 15th February 2018, written by a patient at Spire Alexandra Hospital

Whilst playing football my 21 year old son suffered a grade 3 tear his MCL, which required reconstructive surgery. Fortunately we were pointed in the direction of Mr Ellis. From the very first appointment Mr Ellis was brilliant. He listened to my sons concerns and needs, as a footballer requiring prompt and affective treatment in order for him to return to playing as soon as possible. Mr Ellis explained every option in a way we could understand. We never felt rushed or hurried in any way. The operation and subsequent treatment was first class. I would have no hesitation in recommending Mr Ellis to anyone. A very talented and compassionate man.

15th February 2018 Response from Mr Simon Ellis:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is very much appreciated. I am touched by your comments. Every patient is individual and by listening and explaining the right choice for each person can be made. With kind regards Simon Ellis

6) 29th January 2018, written by a patient at KIMS Hospital

I was a patient of Mr Ellis in 2012 for a right knee replacement. I received excellent service from him and found Mr Ellis to be the extreme professional . He is very approachable in his manner and listens to your concerns attentively and endeavours to allay any fears you may have by explaining the overall situation in layman’s language, thus enabling a full understanding of the proposed procedure. I found him to be a kind, sincere and caring man and would certainly would have no hesitation in recommending him to others.

6th February 2018 Response from Mr Simon Ellis:
Thank you for leaving this feedback which is much appreciated. Listening is so important and goes hand in hand with understandbale explanations. With kind regards Simon Ellis

Content provided by Mr Simon Ellis. For more information please visit www.mrsimonellis.co.uk.

f t g m